DC Fanfare (1997)


Commissioned by the Kennedy Center, 1997

First performed October 24, 1997, by the National Symphony Orchestra, Leonard Slatkin, conductor;
Washington, DC


rent score and parts from G. Schirmer Inc 


Scored for 3 or 4 flutes (1 doubling piccolo), 2 oboes or 3 oboes and english horn, 2 clarinets or 3 clarinets and bass clarinet, 2 bassoons or 3 bassoons and contrabassoon, 4 or 6 horns, 2 or 4 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion (3 or 4 players), harp, piano, and strings

Duration  3 minutes


Program note

DC Fanfares was written for Leonard Slatkin and the National Symphony for the reopening of the Kennedy Center Concert Hall after a nine-month, $14 million renovation. I translated the District of Columbia's initials into musical notes in a tune that begins with a colonial feel yet stands up to the heavy orchestration laid on it in a vigorous conclusion.

                     — John Corigliano

© 2021 John Corigliano | Designed by Wlad Marhulets | Artwork photos by Richard Howe