Gazebo Dances




Arranged for orchestra by the composer (1974)





2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, percussion (3 players), piano, and strings


16 minutes

commissioned by


the Haddonfield Symphony, Arthur Cohn, conductor; Woodbury, NJ (February 20, 1981)

Arranged for orchestra by the composer (1974)

Program note

Gazebo Dances was originally written as a set of four-hand piano pieces dedicated to certain of my pianist friends. I later arranged the suite for orchestra and for concert band, and it is from the latter version that the title is drawn. The title, Gazebo Dances, was suggested by the pavilions often seen on village greens in towns throughout the countryside, where public band concerts are given on summer evenings. The delights of that sort of entertainment are portrayed in this set of dances, which begins with a Rossini-like Overture, followed by a rather peg-legged Waltz, a long-lined Adagio and a bouncy Tarantella.

– John Corigliano


Corigliano: Gazebo Dances, Voyage, Midsummer Fanfare, Promenade Overture, Concerto for Piano and Orchestra

Read More
First Edition Music: World Premiere Collection

Read More